Charlie Taylor Ministries

Close this search box.

Fall 2010 Bible Study Lessons


The Torah Jesus Taught

In Judaism, the first five books of our Christian Bible are called The Torah. Torah is Hebrew for teaching, and came to be used for “The Law”. Therefore in English it is usually translated “The Law”. It contains the founding legal/religious texts of Israel and Judaism. Between 200 and 300 BC, it was translated into Greek since the Greeks ruled the Middle East, and the Torah was called in Greek “The Pentateuch” which means “five books”. The tradition of Judaism divides The Torah into 613 commandments consisting of 365 restrictions and 248 positive commandments. In Jesus’ day (7 BC to 30 AD), oral traditions were considered part of the Torah by the Pharisees, but the oral traditions were not written down until much later. At the time of Jesus’ ministry, no one doubted the authorship of Moses, so The Torah was often called the writings of Moses, or just the Law of Moses.

Lesson 1:  Fall_10_Lesson_1   

Lesson 1:  The Torah Jesus Taught 

Lesson 2:  Fall_10_Lesson_2

Lesson 2:  Deuteronomy

Lesson 3:  Fall_10_Lesson_3


Lesson 4:  Fall_10_Lesson_4

Lesson 4:  Psalm_139

Lesson 5:  Fall_10_Lesson_5

Lesson 5:  Solomon’s_View_of_Wisdom

Lesson 6:  Fall_10_Lesson_6

Lesson 6:  Isaiah_the_Prophet

Lesson 7:  Fall_10_Lesson_7

Lesson 7:  Hosea-The_Living_Illustration

Lesson 8:  Fall_10_Lesson_8

Lesson 8:  Jesus_in_Isaiah_53

Picture of About the Author: Charlie Taylor
About the Author: Charlie Taylor

Charlie Taylor grew up in Dallas, Texas, graduated from the University of Texas Business School and went into the commercial real estate business for about twenty years before enrolling in and graduating from Dallas Theological Seminary with honors.

View All Posts

More Lessons: